Thursday, 9 April 2009

Paris Roubaix 1981 - Hinault charms the Queen

As the six riders entered the velodrome it read like a who's who of Paris Roubaix greats. De Vlaeminick ('72,'74,'75,'77), Moser ('78,'79,'80) Hinault ('81), Kuiper ('83), Van Claster and Demeyer ('76). Out of all those riders only Van Claster would never go on to win it the race.

There is something magical about a win in the World Champions Jersey, a win at Paris Roubaix in that jersey installs you in a famous dynasty.

Cyclist Team Time
1 Bernard Hinault (FRA) Renault-Elf-Gitane 6h 26'07"
2 Roger De Vlaeminck (BEL) Daf-Cote d'Or-Gazelle s.t.
3 Francesco Moser (ITA) Famcucine-Moser s.t.
4 Guido Van Calster (BEL) Wickes-Splendor s.t.
5 Marc Demeyer (BEL) Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata s.t.
6 Hennie Kuiper (NED) Daf-Cote d'Or-Gazelle s.t.

No comments: